18 Aug 2008

Sandown to Shanklin sea swim 2008

2008 news Comments Off on Sandown to Shanklin sea swim 2008

A very brief, but perfectly timed break in the weather on Sunday morning enabled the popular annual sea swim from Sandown Inshore Rescue base to Shanklin Rowing Club, to take place following it’s cancellation two weeks earlier.

An apology is offered to all who were inconvenienced by the decision to cancel taken on August 16th. There had been fears that very poor weather conditions experienced the day before the swim, would create problems in launching accompanying boats, thus being able to ensure swimmers’ safety.

However, the 2008 overall winner was Bridget Bewick from Maidenhead in Berkshire in an excellent time of 30 minutes 30 seconds. Close behind her was Isle of Wight Masters swimmer, Amy Rickards, aged 20 in a time of 30 minutes 40 seconds. Amy successfully defended her two titles of last year – first Island swimmer and fastest under 21 lady.

Both the ladies beat the first man to complete the course, Philip Disley from Fareham whose time was 30 mins 40 secs.

41 more swimmers then arrived at Shanklin over the next forty five minutes, the oldest but by no means last, being 80 year old Island Masters swimmer Tom Rooney in 42 min 13 secs.

Due to the changed date only 14 Island swimmers could take part but between them won eight of the twenty trophies. Winners of the “Heights” team shield were Fareham Creekers who had gathered up their forces for a last minute entry.

There was an atmosphere of fun and friendly rivalry but winning trophies was serious business for many, who come back year after year to compete. Cups, shields and certificates were presented at Shanklin Rowing Club by Mrs. Lynda Fleming, Mayor of Shanklin while her husband John, Chair of Shanklin Regatta Committee thanked the organising group and safety teams for their efforts in re-running the event at short notice.

Special thanks must go to Mark Birch and his crew at Sandown Inshore Rescue for their meticulous role of overall safety, Gordon Phillips of Shanklin Deep Sea Fishing Club for boat cover, David Fryer for stepping onto the role of co-ordinating and briefing the fleet of sea kayaks and canoes, Pat and Kath Glover for providing refreshments and facilities at Shanklin Rowing Club, Stewart Albrighton and Don Hackett for First Aid cover and all those from the masters swimming club who worked closely as a team to re-stage the swim.

Click here for results

Click here for trophies awarded

Comments are closed.